It’s been awhile…

I know it has been a while since my last post, but the kids are back in school, we are back from vacation and I have had a little time to work. Be warned this post may be a little long. By the way, please excuse some of the bad photography, we had a few rainy days…

DSC_0184 copy

My cousin Jessi got married July 6th. I wanted to make her something special because she is special to my family.  She has baby sat my kids so many times and she is just the sweetest girl! I made this quilt, that uses a layer cake, from the Moda Bake Shop. It’s from Moose on the Porch Quilts, you can find the Bake Shop post here.

DSC_0186 copy

I know I should put a label on every quilt that I make but I have to admit that this is the first label I have ever made.  Jessi’s husband Ryan loves to hunt so I was thinking of him with this fabric, you can see the deer in the sashing fabric. I really enjoyed making this quilt. The pattern was easy and it went together very quickly. I think I worked on it 4 days total, including the time to quilt it.  Its an 82 X 85 queen size quilt.

DSC_0026 copy

I’ve also quilted a couple more quilts that my Aunt Kris has made. I just had to get a new owl panto for this quilt.

DSC_0030 copy

Nothing else would do! I used blue So Fine for the quilting.

DSC_0023 copy

This is a jelly roll quilt that Kris made. I love the colors and I am so glad that she picked out a leaf design because it is exactly what I wanted to use.

DSC_0025 copy

This was the first time I had ever used this design and it was quite a bit larger that I thought it would be, but I really liked how it turned out.

DSC_0061 copy

We also took our biggest family vacation ever this summer. We traveled to Florida and went to Disney World, LEGOLAND and St. Pete’s Beach. I made the kids each a backpack to keep their stuff in that they wanted to carry around. They were very handy to have on the plane.

DSC_0062 copy

I added the applique first, it is from Lynnie Pinnie designs.  Then I constructed the bags and made straps using my BERNINA bias binding tool.  It made the straps super fast!!  I love Lynnie Pinnie, she had the cutest designs that are available for instant download and super reasonable prices.

DSC_0063 copy

My cousin Ryan and his wife Krista had a sweet little boy named Andrew. I just had to make him a farm themed quilt.

DSC_0059 copy

I used super soft minky fabric for the applique and the backing and quilted it by following the seam lines 1/4 inch on each side.  For the binding, I trimmed the backing fabric about an inch larger than the front then folded it over and top stitched.

20130806_102207

This is MY project. I have been quilting for a little over a year now and decided it was time to make a quilt for myself.  These blocks are made using Jenny Pedigo’s quick curve ruler. She has two amazing blogs but I found her at Sew Kind of Wonderful. I had the ruler and a pattern that I had not used yet, when she announced a Medallion Block sew along. It actually started July 1st and your goal is two blocks per week.  Well, I made 8 blocks the first two days and decided that instead of making 16 blocks, I was turning this into a king size and making 36.  In the picture above I have 22 done. Now I have 28 done and the fabric cut for the rest.  I am going to add a thin grey border, a scrappy border and a thick grey on the outside. I feel like I am three weeks behind because of vacation and running out of grey fabric and having to order it, but I am making progress. There is an option to add a diamond in the center of the white block using print fabric, but I have not decided on that yet.

Well there you have my summer, I am hoping to make a lot of progress on my quilt over the weekend, but I have a feeling with our 100 degree heat we will be spending our time in the pool instead.

Have a Great Day !!

Leah

2 thoughts on “It’s been awhile…

Leave a Reply

