County Fair Block

county fair block

I have finished my county fair block!

Every year the Linn County Fair sells block kits for the County Fair Quilt.  Every kit contains a small selection of fabrics for you to make one 9 1/2 inch square block.  Everyone picks a design for their block, constructs it and turns it back into the committee. The blocks are displayed individually at the fair next to a beautiful quilt that has been made out of the previous years blocks.  There is a peoples choice award for the blocks and the winner gets a $25 gift certificate to a local quilt shop.  It is a lot of fun to pick the block and see how it turns out!

This year I did my block a little differently.  Last year as a beginning quilter I scoured the internet for block patterns that were already a 9 1/2 inch square. This year I used my Electric Quilt 7 software that comes with a library of thousands of blocks.  I picked my favorites and scanned in images of the fabric in my kit.  I could see the block on the computer screen and move the fabric placement until I found the one I liked best.  When I had decided on the placement I liked best I used the software to size the block to 9 1/2 inches then printed templates to cut my pieces. No math required, perfect for me!

I had quite a bit of fabric left over so I might even try to squeeze out a second block.

Let me know what you think,

Leah

Leave a Reply

