Quilt of Valor

DSC_0349

I, like many other quilters, am very moved by the Quilt of Valor organization. (You can find more about them here www.qovf.org) I first saw the program on IPTV last winter during their festival programing and immediately had someone in mind to make a quilt for. My Grandfather Eugene Dunn was in the Army during WWII. The family does not know much about his time in the Army because he rarely talks about it. I do know that he was wounded and received a purple heart.

DSC_0347

The quilt pattern that I picked is one that was made on the IPTV special. It is made up of stars and drunkard path blocks and I have to admit I was a little intimidated by the pattern.  I had the fabric purchased since last summer and even had the pieces cut for the stars since then.  I was very nervous about the curved seams. Grandpa recently had a health scare and it prompted me to going on his quilt. I have to say, once I got going on the curves it was no big deal.  Everything went together well.

DSC_0355

It is a requirement that every quilt is labeled “Quilt of Valor”, the date and the person that made it. Since I knew the recipient I also included my grandpa’s name on the label.  I made the label in Word and printed it on a piece of paper.  I cut a piece of white cotton, centered it over the printing, taped it on all sides, then ran it through the printer again.  Ta Dah! Instant label!

DSC_0353a

The finished product is a throw size quilt that is soft and perfect for a nap. I hope it makes Grandpa as happy to get it as it did for me to make it.

Leah

One thought on “Quilt of Valor

Leave a Reply

